I’m not insensitive, but…

(originally written on 12/12/11)

I was in Walmart just a few minutes ago. I couldn’t find what I was looking for, so I was slightly irritated and ready to just leave. However, I did pick up one impulse item, so I went through the under 20 items checkout line. Well, I’m standing in line chatting with a coworker who happened to be there, and there’s this elderly man on the opposite side of the checkout (to my left) with a crutch on his basket. He walks toward the line and says “excuse me.”

Since he was slightly physically challenged, I figured he didn’t want to walk around the entire line to get to another register so he just wanted to mosey between me and the person in front of me to save some steps.

Do you know this man started turning his basket to the left and cut in front of me and everyone behind me. WTH?! Now, I’m not insensitive, BUT I’m clearly agitated. He didn’t even ask! He just assumed he had a right to go before us all. No, sir, you don’t! Now, if he had asked, I would’ve clearly understood his situation and with a warm heart, I would’ve let him check out before me. (My good deed for the day would’ve been completed.) But he just felt entitled to move to the front of the line, and that’s not cool. I’m sorry that you’ve got a disability, but you’re still human like the rest of us. That wasn’t very gentleman-ly of him at all.

About SydTheBSL

I'm a huge lover of hip-hop. Simply put.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

