Mother Teresa didn’t say that!

Yesterday on Twitter, a guy that I follow tweeted this quote:

If we cannot love the person whom we can see, how can we love God whom we cannot see. – Mother Teresa.

When I read that, my face frowned up. Mother Teresa didn’t say that! She paraphrased a verse from the Bible, but those are not her words. I Googled the “quote” and found that it’s from 1 John 4:20. The full verse from the King James Version is:

If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?

Not to take anything away from Mother Teresa…she was a good person, but she is not the originator. That’s like somebody hearing me say, “If you are able to believe, everything can happen if you believe it” and giving me credit for it. (That’s actually Mark 9:23, “If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.”)

I just had to write something about that because it was bothering me. Now, it’s off my chest, and I can finally rest. Whew!

About SydTheBSL

I'm a huge lover of hip-hop. Simply put.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

