VIDEO: “I Used to Love H.E.R. (Again)”

When I saw that Murs and 9th Wonder had a track on their “Fornever” album entitled, “I Used to Love H.E.R. (Again),” I think I was stunned.

As I said before, Common’s song is my #2 hip-hop song of all time. It’s a classic. Some classics should never even attempt to be remade. However, I was not horrified at the thought of this particular remake because of whose hands it was in. I’m a big Murs fan. He’s my best friend according to my t-shirt 🙂 9th Wonder is a legendary producer. (I’m pretty sure he’s in my top 5. I’ve only created a top 3 list of all time. If we’re talking about living producers only, he’s definitely in my top 4 then.) Let me get back on track…

I remember playing it for the first time and not knowing how I felt. I didn’t know what to say. Of course, I had to play it again, and I had to hold my head. Not that I had a doubt, but they did this song justice. I love how Murs kept the original lyrics and updated a few lines.

I’ve been trying to learn Murs’ version, but Comm’s version has been ingrained in me for so long that I can’t help but spit his lyrics while Murs is saying something else.

Yep, I still love H.E.R.

About SydTheBSL

I'm a huge lover of hip-hop. Simply put.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Hip-Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

