“WE ARE NOT GROUPIES. WE ARE HIP-HOP HEADS!”

What sparked my need to blog about this is last week on Twitter, one of the trending topics was #1waytopissmeoff. I thought for a little while, and then I knew exactly what I was going to say: #1waytopissmeoff Call me a groupie bcuz I love #hiphop. Don’t try 2 reduce my passion 4 this culture 2 something cheap just bcuz I’m female!

Now, let me tell you where this all stems from…

On August 30, 2010 around 3:00 a.m., those words were spoken by my friend, Kat, who lives in Alabama. She had flown up to DC two days prior so that we could attend Rock the Bells together. After the show, we went to our hotel. Things could not have worked out better for us because we ended up running into RZA, Bokeem Woodbine, ODB’s son, Method Man, and the organizers of Rock the Bells. We were ecstatic that we got to meet them.

Instead of going to bed, Kat and I decided to hang out in the lobby to see who else might be staying in the same hotel. There were some guys chilling out, too. As they were walking away, one of them said, “Groupies.” Kat shouted across the lobby, “We are not groupies! We are HIP-HOP HEADS!” Those words have stood out to me ever since then.

Why did those guys assume just because we were two females chilling in the hotel lobby that we were on our groupie flow? No, never that! Kat and I are just two PEOPLE who love hip-hop. We just happen to have been born female. That’s it. We love hip-hop just as much as dudes. We are not groupies. We are not seeking to become a part of rappers’ sexual conquests. We only seek to meet the artists who we admire and let them know that we appreciate the music they make. That’s all!

Just recently, I was having a conversation with a guy about music. He asked what I like, “I said, ‘hip-hop.'” His response was, “Oh, you’re a groupie.” My reaction was like Queen Latifah in her U.N.I.T.Y. song, “I punched him dead in his eye and said, ‘Who you calling a…'” Well, I didn’t punch him dead in his eye, but I had to let him know what the deal really is.

Whenever I go to a hip-hop show, I’m very conscious of what I wear because I don’t want people to get the wrong idea about me. I’ll throw on a fitted tee, some jeans, and my Timbs before a cute blouse, shorts, and some open-toed 3-inch heels. As I’m sitting here typing this, I’m asking myself, “Why are you letting someone else’s ideas dictate what you will or won’t wear to a show?” From now on, I’m gonna wear what my heart desires, and I will rock just as hard if not harder than the next man. All I know is if one of these ignorant dudes tries to disrespect me, I’m now on my Latifah flow. Who you calling a …!

image

About SydTheBSL

I'm a huge lover of hip-hop. Simply put.

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Hip-Hop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

