The Legendary GURU

Guru_Lemonade

"Lemonade was a popular drink and it still is..."

Today, I’m reminiscing on the life of a legendary MC. Here’s what I wrote last year after Guru passed:

I just have to get this out of my system. On Monday, April 19, 2010, the hip-hop world lost Keith “Guru” Elam. My uncle Tim texted me at 8:44 a.m. on Tuesday with the news. I was at work trying to keep it together because how do you explain to your coworkers who aren’t hip-hop heads that one of your favorite MCs died and you are very upset?? I had to try to consume myself with work to keep my eyes from welling up.

All I could think of was “Premier drops beats for me to say verses to” and all I wanted to do was listen to his voice over and over again. Thankfully, I had some Gang Starr songs on my limited iPod, but I really wanted to go home and play their CDs. My heart ached for the Elam family, Preemo, and myself.

Gan gStarr was one of my absolute favorite hip-hop groups since forever. In fact, when I fell in love with hip-hop, there were only 3 groups that I was crazy about, and Gang Starr was one of them. Yeah, I liked hip-hop in the late 80s, but it was in the early 90s that hip-hop forever stole my heart and wouldn’t let go. Guru contributed greatly to my love for hip-hop. He was one of the thieves who captured my heart, and for him of all MCs to pass away, that just tore me up inside. I love Guru (Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal) and miss him greatly.

Thanks to 92.1 for banging Gang Starr on my ride home on Tuesday. I think 106.5 is wack for not doing so. Thanks to my FB friends for representing & posting Gang Starr videos. Let’s continue to celebrate. Can’t wait to listen to “ALONGWAYTOGO,” “DWYCK,” “Take It Personal,” “B.Y.S.,” “Ex Girl to the Next Girl,” “Above the Clouds,” “Mass Appeal,” “Moment of Truth,” “Code of the Streets,” and too many more to name when I get home.

Didn’t think I would be adding Guru’s name to the list…”Now like an angel you’ve risen, and you will stay in my heart. And yo, I wish you were still living. Word. This is in memory of…” Keith Guru Elam, rest in peace.

“In Memory Of” (http://youtu.be/BjWfRpfpXJQ)

About SydTheBSL

I'm a huge lover of hip-hop. Simply put.

Posted on April 19, 2011, in Hip-Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

